Love Thy Self…

I’m going to take a step away from the writing and talk about self image. Maybe it can be used as a character builder. Or rather would you create the perfect character if you have low self-esteem? Or would you be comfortable making your main characters as flawed as yourself?

It took me a long time to love myself. It was harder when I didn’t have an older role model that would have helped me with some of the “girl” stuff. But I was never really into the “girl” stuff. Make-up made my face feel gross and itchy, and well I don’t think my lips were created for lipstick in general. I feel more comfortable in jeans and a t-shirt, and I choose to be comfortable then dressy. So as I write my characters they are mostly natural, and not to dressy, unless the scene calls for it.

I guess I was lucky that my parents didn’t really care too much about dieting and all that. Although I did wish they were a little more self conscience on the junk we ate. I see girls with self image issues. Ones who have to be on a diet, because their parents had self image issues, because they watched their parents diet most of their life. It’s sad because there are beautiful people out there who think so low of themselves. And it’s sad that these beautiful people will unintentionally possibly pass their low self-image to their children.

Of course other then low self-esteem, the need to diet all through life, never being comfortable in your skin, never being good enough. Also creates the bullies, and those who are bullied. By learning to love your flaws and being okay in your skin you prevent that. Just remember there is only one of you, with one life, do you really want to spend it hating yourself? That doesn’t seem like a good way to live.

Leave a Reply

