Author Allie Burke Has a Secret About Halloween Guest Post

So, I hate Halloween. I know! I’m sorry! Don’t throw fruit!!

I hide from Halloween for a multitude of reasons, the most common of them being the fact that I don’t like being scared. I don’t like horror movies, or haunted houses, or those things you pay to go to so a bunch of zombies can chase you around, or whatever. I don’t go around looking for paranormal activity, or invite ghosts in. I’m not oblivious to their existence, but I don’t have to like it. I also associate the holiday with torture to animals, specifically cats, and I have a cat that I couldn’t bear to live without, so I typically spend the evening making sure that she is safe. And I had this fear of being poisoned for years in my early twenties so the thought of random candy kind of freaks me out. Oh and when I have dressed up, no one ever gets my costume because it’s always book-related, and no one I know really reads books. Not like, in real life.

So I’m not really a fan, but I have my reasons.

I do have a funny Halloween story, though. It was funny to me at the time and then funny again when I found out how much of a numbskull I was when I was a child.

I was in junior high, I think, and my friend wanted to go see this movie called Scream 2, and even though I was not a horror fan then either, I went, because what else are you supposed to do when you’re twelve? I hadn’t seen the first film in the whole Scream world, but the thought that I should see the first film didn’t even cross my mind at the time. I’d never even heard of it.

So it was like, July—I remember it being hot—and this dude is like standing at the double doors ripping tickets in a black robe and white mask.

And I said to my friend, “Is it Halloween or something?” and I laughed, because I thought I was soooooo funny, and she gave me this look like YOU IDIOT, and I laughed some more, and didn’t get it until I was like twenty-six and watched the movie again and was like OHHHHHH I GET IT and then I laughed again.

Anyway, I liked the remake of Halloween and the only shows I watch are like The Walking Dead, Vampire Diaries, and Supernatural. Pumpkin points?

Leave a Reply

