Linda Bloodworth Stops in to share her Top 5 Halloween Movies

Hallowe’en is a great time of year. Nothing like the rush of filling a pillow case full of candy. Sigh. I really enjoyed that. As I’m not really the trick or treat age anymore, I’ve found that spending the night with scary ass movies works just fine.

Here’s a list of my favourite Hallowe’en movies:

1. Donnie Darko:

This movie has everything: awesome 80’s soundtrack, time travel, Jake Gyllenhaal, a sassy gym teacher who gets told a thing or two, Patrick Swayze, and a love story. My character Moira quotes this to my main character Justice. I love this quote, it seriously makes me laugh every time. Oh – the movie climax takes place on Hallowe’en night.

2. The Suicide Club

This movie was seriously messed up. I just didn’t understand why people would do this, but then again I’m not in that mind frame. It was an incredibly odd film, but it really is a mind fuck if you’re into that kind of thing.

3. The Others

I won’t give it away for anyone who hasn’t watched this movie, but it seriously impressed me. I usually don’t like Nicole Kidman all that much, but I actually believed she cared for these children. The premise is there are ghosts living in the house with the family. It’s terrifying in a psychological way and I cannot get some of the images out of my mind.

4. American Psycho Where to begin with this movie? Christian Bale plays a powerful investment banker who is obsessed with business cards, Huey Lewis and the News, and being able to one up his ‘friends’. Not only is a raging psycho who goes on a killing spree, but he’s so calm about it. I suppose that is what some crazy people are like? I have to say it’s a dark movie, but I can totally see how all the events build up to drive the main character nuts. It’s so well done and thought out. Highly recommend it.

5. Coraline

Don’t be fooled with the animation. Coraline is hardly a kid’s movie. I found it rather disturbing and I don’t even want to go on about it.

All in all, Halloween comes in different forms. For some it’s a cute costume, and candy. Just depends what you’re into.

Bio:
Linda Bloodworth loves chips, like really, ketchup to be exact. Ketchup chips are only found in Canada. Lucky for Linda she lives in Toronto with her husband and three fur babies. In between writing, debating for hours about the Oxford comma and the misunderstood semi colon, Linda enjoys camping and getting away from the city on day trips.
Currently, Linda is working on her first novel named A Raven’s Touch. The story is mainly paranormal with a fantasy twist.
Blurb:
Born with a secret Justice discovers her Heaven sent powers make her God’s demon slayer. When she meets mystery man Darien her whole world changes. Justice discovers they both have a demon joint enemy – Daria. Alongside her friends Moira and Tom, the four of them team up to fight Hell on earth.
2 comments on “Linda Bloodworth Stops in to share her Top 5 Halloween Movies

  1. I’ll have to see The Others and American Psycho. We’re always looking for good movies to watch this time of year. 🙂

Leave a Reply

