Sunday Snippet!

He walked her up the stairs and to her room. She turned. “Thank—”

Before she could finish his arms slipped around her waist and she was pulled against him. At first she was stunned, and then she went with it and wrapped her arms around his neck.

“Sorry,” Logan whispered into her ear. “I just think we both need a hug.”

The warmth was nice, the contact even more. And before she knew she was crying on his shoulder. He tightened the hug. And she let herself be held.

“Thank you,” she whispered.

The neighbor peeked out at them. “I think we need to go in.”

She nodded and reluctantly let go. She dug out her key card and let them into the room.

He followed her in looking around. “The room looks much better on the inside then the out.”

She was drying the tears. “It is.”

“You okay?”

“I got the call for the meeting Wednesday. I was getting out of my car, noticed my husband was home. I went in the house. I was so excited to tell him about this, it was the start of our anniversary vacation. Five years married. I walked into the room and there he was boinking the pretty neighbor in our bed.” Alisa sat down heavily on the bed.

“I’m sorry.”

She looked down at her hands in her lap. “I lost a hundred and ten pounds for him, we couldn’t have a baby, we—” She took in a deep breath. “I should have ended it a few years ago. There has been nothing there anymore. We were stuck. I guess I thought there would be no other.”

Logan sat beside her and put his arm around her. “I think you are pretty, smart, witty, nerdy, and awesome. Anyone love to have you, and would regret loosing you.”

She looked at him. “I’m sorry. That hug just made me puke out my feelings. Are you okay?”

He looked away from her. “She boinked my so called best friend, she boinked other strange men even when we were together. I had to get tested. I was terrified. When the results came back okay I had a small nervous breakdown. Of course Roman would have none of that. I think the trouble started when we talked about her moving to Los Angeles. She wanted me to stay in New York, but my job was here, and her job was there as well as her estranged husband and son.” He stopped and she saw he was regrouping his thoughts.

“There were too many warning signs.” He shook his head. “I have to go. I need to get a little rest before dealing with Roman tomorrow. Good thing we are almost done.”

He walked to the door and she followed. “Good night,” she said holding the door.

“One more hug for the road?”

“Sure.” They held each other.

“Alisa,” he whispered.

“Yes.”

“I have to go. Because at this moment. I want to kiss you.” She let go of him, shocked and nervous. “Good night, now lock up. I would be sad if something bad happens to you.”

She nodded and closed the door. She leaned against it. Her heart hammered in her chest. Her mind wondered what it would be like to kiss him. She shook her head. Can’t do this, you silly girl. He is a movie stay, what will happen afterwards?

“I go back to my boring life minus a husband and an overbearing mother,” Alisa told herself out loud.  But that didn’t stop the dirty thoughts that spiraled around her head, neither did the shower or looking over emails.

Leave a Reply

